Inspired by everything

"There are only two hard things in Computer Science: cache invalidation and naming things. -- Phil Karlton"

About Me

Hola, me llamo Ben Schepmans y tengo años. Me gusta el diseño y crear o mejorar cosas. It might be a good idea to switch to the English language now, so we can get down to business.

Born in Belgium, I moved to Spain with my family at the age of 12. After living there for more than 10 years I think I can call myself a bilingual person. But not even the good weather can keep me here. For many reasons, moving back to Belgium is the best choice for me.

My interests are very wide-ranging and therefore I am always on the lookout to learn new things. Creativity has always been a necessity in my life, ranging from drawing silly things when bored in class to studying Architecture.

Architecture is and has always been a big part of my life. Houses and the meaning of "home" have always fascinated me. Since I was a little kid I dreamt about having my own place. Therefore, studying architecture was the obvious choice. I don't consider these 2 years of Architecture a waste of time, because I learnt so many valuable things.

Ultimately, I decided to switch to Computer Science, a decision which I have not regretted. Since IT is so fast moving, you never stop learning. Turning an idea into reality gives a very satisfying feeling and writing a program, designing a user interface or improving the user experience does just this. I like the fact that you can be very creative within IT, and even though it might not seem so, it is more of a requirement than a virtue.

Since February 2018, I am doing my internship at PieSync (Ghent, Belgium) for a duration of 3 months. After presenting my thesis in June, I will be graduated since I have already passed all my exams in January. In short, I will soon be able to architect software and you won't regret hiring me :)

As for my education:
- Bachelor of Computer Science -- Ingeniería informática, Universitat Jaume I (Spain) | 2013-2018
- Bachelor of Architecture, UHasselt (Belgium) | 2011-2013
- ASO 3: Science-maths, IES Torreblanca (Spain) | 2005-2011

As for my experience:
- Currently working as front-end developer at Bricsys (Ghent, Belgium) | Summer 2018 - currentDay
- Internship @ PieSync - Refactor existing dashboard in React (Ghent, Belgium) | Winter 2018 - Summer 2018
- Student worker @ VPK Packaging Group - IT-Department (Erembodegem, Belgium) | 31/07/2017 - 31/08/2017
- Student worker @ Vainilla Ice Cream - Ice cream and waffle sale (Peñiscola, Spain) | 2006-2016

Me

me.birthday = "11/03/1993";
me.address = "Lede, Belgium";
me.mobile = "+34 644 242 722";
me.email = "schepmansben@gmail.com";
me.drivingLicense = "B";
me.degree = "Grado en Ingeniería Informática - 2018 - Universitat Jaume I, Castellón, Spain";
me.languages = ["Dutch", "Spanish", "English"];
me.recreationalStuff = ["Photography", "Music", "Snooker", "Architecture", "Movies", "Cars", "Sports", "Design", "Learning"];

Skills

MacOS Linux Java HTML CSS JavaScript Vue React Python Git Vim Bash Sketchup Lightroom Photoshop Vectorworks

Interests

Development Front-end Back-end Security OOP FP

Personality

Observant Listener Creative Autodidact Thoughtful Prepared Problem solver Insightful Empathetic Self aware Introspective Analytical Calm Helpful Punctual Perfectionist Teamplayer Social